Organisation and Funding

ASEM LLL Hub headquarter is (to be announced). The ASEM LLL Hub works in partnership with the Asia-Europe Foundation (ASEF) in Singapore.

The Hub’s five active research networks are paralleled by a Hub University Council composed of, senior representatives from its partner universities (currently, 36 representatives from 28 countries) and by a Hub Advisory Board that brings together 25 national ministries and 5 international organisations.

The Thai Ministry of Education chairs the Hub Advisory Board and the Latvian Ministry of Education and science acts as co-chair. (To be announced) chairs the Hub University Council.

The ASEM LLL Hub has an explicit mandate to extend its cooperation network to include all ASEM countries [1], the European Commission and the ASEAN Secretariat.

The first ASEM Education Ministers Meeting in Berlin (2008) issued an initial invitation to do so, and the second Education Ministers Meeting in Hanoi (2009) confirmed the mandate in its Chair’s conclusions.

ASEM LLL Hub activities and infrastructure receive a modest level of financial support from ASEF. These funds are awarded each year on the basis of evaluated proposals. Voluntary funding contributions have also been mobilised on a specific activity basis from ASEM governments and partner universities.

[1] ASEM partners (May 2015) include:
Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Lao PDR, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mongolia, Myanmar, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, The Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vietnam, the ASEAN Secretariat and the European Commission.